January 12, 2014

Just Thinking This Out (Rights and Stuff)

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , at 2:03 am by Chav Paderborn

I suppose the difference between real and digital goods is that when I make/give a copy, I still have my original copy exactly as I found it.

For the seller this means I can sell unlimited copies of the original product with only whatever fees are in the marketing/supply costs. (Obvs I don’t need to make a new space-t-shirt every time I want to sell one.) I can impose deliberately limited supply but that always just strikes me as wanky. I have an unlimited supply ready to ship at any time.

Anyways, I have charged a bit more for things on Kitely because of the Export option for Hypergrid. I feel I need to explain this in some way, so. First up the convenience factor, and the minimum of 1USD that I can charge for things in real currency. (I have some cheaperer things buyable in Kitely Credits only.) And then I just kind of assumed that once it hits the Hypergrid the perms can be cracked open and it may/will end up as a full-perms freebie. So I may as well make something off it while I can, especially if someone down the line is going to decide to sell it themselves. It’s more expensive than SL because it’s more useful/portable. I’ve always thought of my SL stuff (or whichever closed/commercial grid) as being “licenced” for use there only, so it made more sense to charge less, given the limited use you were getting out of it compared to an asset that could be transferred between grids.

I like full perms stuff as a buyer, because I can drop copies on people and mod them as I feel like, but I can see why people send stuff out with limited perms. I know why things in SL are copy rather than transfer (old assest server problems, if I remember my history right), to the point where I don’t quite trust no-copy objects not to disappear on me.

I kind of fear being accused of the maddest capitalism, but whatever I’m charging for my work which may be a hobby but aspects of it are boring or effort.

So.

 

5 Comments »

  1. Vanish said,

    Hey,

    I can see you’re thinking along the same lines as I do recently. The problem we all have is that there is absolutely nothing to go by when it comes to pricing. What’s the value of a spaceshoe? What’s the value of a pose? A terrain? Hair?

    I don’t know. All I know is how long it took me to make it, but is that anything to go by? How much is an hour of my work worth? How many items would I realistically sell of it? I don’t know.

    The more I read about it, and the more I think about it, the more I have to conclude that everyone is just making shit up as they go along. Human beings have absolutely nothing to go by when estimating the price or value of an item, except the price on similar items in close proximity, which is just as made-up as everything else.

    I don’t think that makes you a Capitalist Pig™. Obviously, other merchants have no problem charging dream prices for their items, and who knows? Maybe someone even pays that price for them.

    In the end, I’m having a hard time figuring out for myself what the correct/ethical way of handling all this is. Partly because it’s new to me, and partly because I dislike businesses, so I need to figure out a way of trading items that fits me, allows me to look in the mirror in the morning, makes me feel good about what I do and hopefully encourages me to make more items.

    I’ve still got quite a way to go.

    • I reckons part of my fear is that SL beat me into charging almost nothing for my work, because of the sheer saturation of that marketplace. So I have no idea what to charge if I actually want to make magical spacebux out of it.

      • Vanish said,

        Well, I just had a lengthy discussion with El about the same subject. I’m not even worried about making actual money, I just don’t want to sell myself (or my stuff) too cheap.

        Money is a funny thing. If you price something too cheap, people will think it’s not very good. If you price it too expensive, they will think *you’re* not very good. I just don’t know where “too cheap” or “too expensive” are.

      • Chav Paderborn said,

        Yeah, I doubt I will ever make much moneys through this, but I’d like to offset some of my costs a bit, like earning spacebux instead of having to buy them. Hey, I can dream!

  2. […] My friend Chav is thinking along the same lines as I do recently. The problem we all have is that there is absolutely nothing to go by when it comes to pricing. What’s the value of a spaceshoe? What’s the value of a pose? A terrain? Hair? […]


Leave a Reply

