February 11, 2013

Meshin’ around

Posted in mesh, metropolis grid, my own stuff, opensim at 10:37 pm by Chav Paderborn

meshcotechav

I know only about three people on the grid will be able to see it, but I made a wee mesh coat. It is urchin-sized.

Actuallly it’s been a bit bothering me how few people can see mesh and whether that is going to hold things back artistically. Imprudence is still a popular opensim viewer, and it can’t really do anything that happened in the last couple of years. I love mesh, mesh is easier than sculpts and that makes it good. Mesh clothing is horrible difficult but can work very well if you can make it work properly. Anyway, I will just look a bit invisible to most people. This affects how I build, like how I am making the Secret Bunker be real prims and a single sculptmap so  that absolutely anyone can see it. It’s actually harder in some ways than building with mesh, but quite fun.

It would be nice if there was greater opensim adoption of mesh viewers. I used to worry about mesh but then it turned out okay so then I stopped worrying about that so much. I mean, prims and avatars are a kind of mesh, right? Or something, I don’t really know technology. Mesh is probably The Future and the longer we hold back on it the less cool stuff will get made.

Leave a Reply

