February 7, 2013

Urchin Tiem Nao

Posted in metropolis grid, opensim at 6:46 am by Chav Paderborn

I only really did it out of spite, but I have enjoyed being a kid avatar on Metro grid enough that I’m probably staying on for the foreseeable future. Urchin Chav is quite inspiring to build for with her “story” of Hoboness. All the wee crazy accessories and odd builds that she totes needs somehow.

Some thoughts!:

– It places a distance between avatar and typist that is quite interesting, it’s like roleplaying all the time. Of course, one of the downsides of kid avs is that they (like furries, vampires, etc) kind of force other people to go along with your RP and that’s not really great but I can’t think of an alternative.

– The best thing, I reckons, is that you don’t have to second-guess people’s motives as much. There’s none of this “Is this man only talking to me because he fancies my av?” or “Is this woman after my pants?” At least one potential friendship on OSG ended up like that (many on SL) and it’s always a mixture of annoying and sad.

– I’ve made a skin with basic undies on it, so that she can never be accidentally nekkid. I think this is the best plan for kid avs, especially if you’re having trouble finding a good skin and can just mod an Eloh psd to get something useable. A certain degree of paranoia comes with being a kid avatar, because you don’t want to be interpreted as doing anything that is Not Good. Luckily it’s (as far as I know) not a very sexual grid. (Unlike… well, I’m a bit worried about the recent changes on OSGrid and the proximity to power of the BDSM peeps there.)

– Chav has started talking in her own way, see above about roleplaying all the time. I’ve never been any good at rp, so seeing a character develop as though by her own charisma is quite interesting to me. I suppose this is how it’s supposed to work?

 

Leave a Reply

