February 3, 2013

mesh problems and the build

Posted in chavland, mesh, metropolis grid, my own stuff, opensim at 3:27 am by Chav Paderborn

build_001

It occurs to me that this build may never actually be finished. It’s an ongoing construction, so I’m not sure when to declare it “open” as such. I’ve started putting stuff in the buildings, which is a move towards completion I suppose.

Another thing is trying to do without mesh. I don’t actually know what percentage of the grid is still using Imprudence, but it seems to be a fair few people. Yes, all this time later people still can’t see mesh. This is a problem if I want people to be able to see the stuff I’ve made. Some things I pretty much have to make in mesh because I don’t know how else to make them, but I’ve been using normal prims a lot more than I have for some time. Mesh is great, I love mesh now. It’s not perfect for everything, but for shapes that you can’t manage with real prims it is magical. Plus it makes texturing easier because materials in Blender. I seem to have forgotten quite a lot about sculpties, having had no real use for them in a while. I kind of hate sculpts, mainly having to rebuild the entire thing inworld annoys me vastly and sometimes I can’t get it right.

So. I don’t know how much mesh to use and when.

Leave a Reply

